Golf

Dustin Johnson Wins US Open for the First Time

Dustin Johnson Wins US Open

Dustin Johnson Wins US Open for First Major Title

Dustin Johnson Wins US Open

Dustin Johnson Wins US Open

Dustin Johnson has won his first major title at the US Open in Oakmont, Pennsylvania. Johnson overcame a 54 hole four-stroke deficit and a penalty en route to the championship.

The 31-year-old Coastal Carolina Alum shot a 69 in the final round to finish at four-under for the tournament, three shots ahead of Scott Piercy and Jim Furyk, and the 54 hole leader, Shane Lowry.

Johnson has suffered multiple near-misses at major tournaments in recent years, most notably at last year’s US Open when he three-putted the final green to hand the win to Jordan Spieth.

“Feels good. Feels really good. Feels well deserved. I’ve had a lot of opportunities that I didn’t quite get it done. So this one’s definitely really sweet,” Johnson said.

“It means the world. It’s Father’s Day. My birthday’s in a couple days. Couldn’t have came at a better time.”

The Controversial Shot Penalty

Johnson started the last 18 holes tied for second, but still four strokes behind Shane Lowry.

Johnson, who has been at the center of several close calls in major championships, defied the pressure of playing under threat of a penalty to hold on for a breakout win at Oakmont Country Club.

Dustin Johnson Wins US OpenJohnson was approached on the 12th tee in the final round by officials informing him they were considering assessing a one-shot penalty for an incident on the fifth hole. They believed he may have caused his ball to move on the green, but said they would rule on it after his round. At the time Johnson led by two and it clearly rattled his nerves for a few holes as he fell back into a tie for the lead before rebounding to win by three shots, despite having the one-shot penalty imposed.

Fellow Golfers slammed the USGA on social media about the situation Johnson was put in as he was trying to clinch his maiden major title.

Former US Open champion Rory McIlroy started it by tweeting, “This is ridiculous… No penalty whatsoever for DJ. Let the guy play without this crap in his head. Amateur hour from @USGA.”

Defending champion Jordan Spieth also weighed in, “Lemme get this straight.. DJ doesn’t address it. It’s ruled that he didn’t cause it to move. Now you tell him he may have? Now? This a joke?”

Rickie Fowler offered his opinion, tweeting, “@JordanSpieth @McIlroyRory w/ you boys! The fact that the @usga thinks that DJ caused the ball to move is completely ridiculous! Laughable!

But even though Johnson was eventually penalized one stroke, his margin was such that the victory could not be overturned.

Johnson’s next shot at a major will be at The Open Championship (more commonly referred to as the British Open by Americans) next month at Royal Troon in Scotland.

(Dustin Johnson Wins US Open)

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

To Top
Close